top of page

Spangled Life

After listening to Fergie's unforgettable rendition of the National Anthem at the NBAs a couple of days ago, the word 'spangled' was brought to my attention. It is, in my opinion, a really great and underused bit of vocabulary. I like the sound of it and the good feelings it brings. Apart from the apparent patriotism that I think the word is most greatly associated with, 'spangled' sounds a lot like a mix of the two words, spatula (which makes me think of brownies) and tangled (which makes me think of kite string and/or yarn, which then leads to kites, obviously, and kittens playing with that ball of yarn or knitting). Is that thought process too lengthy, or are there others who are sharing in my appreciation for this word?

I decided, after considering the underrated state of 'spangled' that I would try and incorporate it into my own vocabulary with more regularity. I knew that the word's definition was something along the lines of "being covered in" or perhaps synonymous with a word like "studded" but I wasn't certain of the exact meaning, and so to prevent future embarrassment I looked it up. My presumptions were close to accurate but, to my surprise, spangled is much like the word sequined, in the sense that it is the adjective of a noun. A 'spangle' is a "small sparkling object; a spot of bright color or light."

This stumped me a little bit. I sat at my computer staring at this definition trying to come up with appropriate scenarios in which I could use this word. "What a beautifully spangled dress you have on!" Does that not sound a bit...extra? And then I thought, could spangle be synonymous with dapple? Since light is associated with the word, why not admire the effect of the sun and trees on the forest floor by exclaiming, "I love the spangle on this moss!" I realized after thinking of this, that a spangle could be perceived as either a physical thing, reflecting light (much like a sequin) OR, light itself. The Star Spangled Banner that we wave in celebration of our freedom and country is a representation of something greater than itself, as are the stars that rest on it's navy shoulder. The true stars hang out of our reach (thank goodness) on the navy body of the galaxy.

So then, a spangle, in my opinion, seems to be a bridge between the representatives and the real deal. Have you ever seen a shiny object shine with out a light source? My life is very much like a spangle, but what I'm realizing is that every day, though I remain a spangle, I am being transformed from a reflective spangle, to a light-giving spangle. My analogy is weak in some major areas, but I have realized within this last year, (these past two months especially) how time with Christ and personal revelations of Himself, have begun to change me inwardly. Though I will never be my own source of light, His work in my life, when completed, will be an utter transformation but at the same time a restoration, meaning the skeleton of the original structure will remain in tact, but I will be completely different!

Any Fixerupper fans? Chip and Joanna Gaines know all about what I'm saying here. They take an old house, some that even a ghost wouldn't want to abide in, and they transform it into a beautiful home. Was it a house to begin with? Sure, but it's completely different. So, returning to my spangle analogy, I am a spangle today because I have the ability to choose to reflect the light of the Son, and because I am made in His image, there is a part of me that will always point to Him, whether I acknowledge Him as my God and Savior or not. In the end though, after a life of turning my face toward him so I CAN reflect His light, I will become much more like Him, the light itself.

When I was a much littler girl than I am today, my parents put me in a ballet class. Our first recital was performed to the song His Banner Over Me Is Love. We wave our Star Spangled Banner on the 4th of July and other significant days of the year in which the history and fundamentals of our country are commemorated, but our individual lives can each be perceived as a waving banner. What we reflect and how we live is waved before those we see on a daily basis. I hope that mine is, more often than not, Love.


Archive
bottom of page