top of page

Preparing the Warhorse

Did you know that there was such a thing as a Global Peace Index (GPI)? Evidently, it is scored based off a spectrum of 1 to 5 in three different areas, these being 1) Political Instability 2) Safety and Security and 3) Ongoing Conflict. The other day, a friend asked me what the "climate" of our potential new home in Uganda was like. I gave a vague, confident, answer; therefore securing my facade of being up to date and not at all ignorant about what kind of adventure my family was moving toward. My husband called me out this morning while steeping his bacon in grease. "You don't really know what's going on over there right now, do you?" I didn't try to defend myself because I've already learned, at this point in our relationship, that Hunter reads me better than he reads books. Instead, I just rolled my eyes and sipped some coffee.

"You should do some research." he encouraged. This is how I came to discover the GPI. In Uganda, their rating (as of 2016) is 3/5, 2.7/5, and 1.8/5.

Here are some fun numbers for all you accountants out there.

Uganda's Population is currently, approximately 41.5 million of which, 84% live rurally and only 16%, Urban. Their neonatal, mortality rate is also 21.4 of every 1000. Although these numbers are pretty stark in comparison to what those of the U.S. are, I can't say I was too surprised by them. What DID shock me was discovering that Uganda is the largest host of Refugees in Africa and one of the top three in all the world! Many of the people seeking refuge are from South Sudan and the DR Congo, and 82% of them are young women and children under the age of 18. Because of the influx of population, the agricultural and clean water availability has had some massive strains put on it. If you've seen a map of Africa and know the size of Uganda, you'd understand why. It is a teensy little country tucked near the Eastern border of the giant continent of Africa.

Water and food aren't the only concerns for this small country, though. The health care system, I am finding out, is also suffering from the overwhelming needs and underwhelming available help. This reminded me a lot of the state of our world in its entirety. There is an overwhelming amount of hurting, pain, evil, tragedy, and sorrow that cannot be answered with the earthly "good" available to us. We are, in essence, beyond our means when it comes to overcoming evil with good.

The verse engraved within my and Hunter's wedding bands is Proverbs 21:31 "The horse is made ready for the day of battle, but the victory belongs to the Lord." It can be very easy to feel overwhelmed and discouraged by some of the things we will see and experience within our time in this world. I know that both my family and I will learn more of this over the next few years as we adjust to life in a foreign culture. But it is important, I think, to remind ourselves not to shoulder the weight of all the brokenness within this world because, although we are responsible for creating it, we are not responsible for healing it. We once were, but that daunting, and very much impossible task for our limited selves, has been taken on by the Savior of the world.

That being said, we do have a role. And an important one too. We prep the patient for surgery. We fill the tires with air before the trip. And we make the warhorse ready before it rides into battle. But the final victory belongs to the only One who could possibly meet all the needs of the world's refugees, victims, and broken hearted with not just adequate, but an overwhelming response of love and healing.


Archive
bottom of page