top of page

Abort!

Another poem - they seem to be finding me.

Abort! Abort!

Abandon mission!

These aren't my plans

My dreams, or vision.

Block the runway!

Return to hanger!

Take down sails!

Release the anchor!

I'll choose the place,

the pace, the time,

arriving by own design.

No detours, short cuts

Or busted tires.

No frayed or damaged

Exposed wires.

I can't face this.

I can't go there.

To venture here,

I would not dare.

Abort, abort. My heart beats fast.

This potential life be trashed!

Abort, abort! Remove this thing!

It shall not receive a name!

I am afraid. I am alone.

This is not where I chose to go.

Return me to my rightful course

I won't be taken here by force!

This is my life, my chosen path.

I own it and I can't go back.

Abort, and turn this ship around!

Or all aboard will surely drown!

Captain, captain, remember now,

This is your deck, your crew, your bow.

You can't abort, this moment's vital

For you to fully claim your title.

Captain, captain, you are equipped

to bravely go down with your ship.

You will survive, you will emerge,

But first, your old life must submerge.


Archive
bottom of page