top of page

I'm Never Far From Weeping

I am never far from weeping.

I stare in a mirror after my first brush with death, feeling sore and fragile.

I find my first love's eyes as he stands at the end of an aisle.

I walk alone in forest trees, and listen for the sounds

that I first heard when I was young that made the lost feel found.

I cradle eyes first opening, and feel my child's heartbeat.

I watch an old, lame woman drag herself across the street.

I tap my feet to music and watch my children dance.

I watch the baby Crispus fight for breath and one last chance.

I hold my breath at seaside, and witness a sunrise,

And exhale with a shudder as another infant dies.

From morning time til evening, to January 1st.

From every single New Year that erupts with fireworks,

I feel my soul exploding, as joy and pain abound.

I'm mourning with the mourning, while I join exultant sounds.

I feel the darkness press in, and see the light break through.

So I'm never far from weeping, from pain and things made new.

.

Archive
bottom of page