top of page

Pious little piggies

There is a word in the book that I go to for answers.

This book tells me of grand and beautiful stories.

Stories of great fish that swallow men whole,

and city walls that come thundering down

from nothing more than an act of obedience.

There are many lessons within these same pages

that offer me a richness that might be experienced

in this one, precious life,

if I would only heed them.

One of these lessons, the word of which I spoke,

advised me:

"Caste not your pearls before swine."

So I looked toward the dirty, ponderous souls about me

and I clutched my treasure to myself.

Surely, these bedragled, unkept, wild eyed creatures

were the swine spoken of.

But one day, despite myself, I dropped a precious gift

that I had found during my seeking,

and it landed at the feet of the presumed swine.

This creature astounded me when it picked up this pearl

and shared with me in its wonder.

The experience emboldened me

and I took myself and all my most valued possessions

to the dirty, clumsy, silly animals

and they adored them just as I did.

I found, after watching them,

one by one, treasure up these things in their hearts,

that they were not pigs at all.

Indeed, these were neglected, abused, and uncared for

lions.

And it was these precious pearls that had been entrusted to me

that brought them back to the state that they were designed

to thrive in.

I was eager to share these life-giving gifts

with every animal I came upon.

I forgot the words of caution from

the book full of life

and I shared with abandon.

It was not long before I came upon

some well scrubbed creatures.

They loved to bathe, never smelled, and their hair was always combed just so.

Such squeaky clean, impressive little beasts would surely house

minds of wisdom,

hearts of gold,

and a deep appreciation for treasure.

So with great joy and expecation

I approach them and share my pearls

with which I had been so graciously bequeathed.

My joy was turned to shame however,

when the well groomed little animals turned on



me

and with bared teeth and a look made stupid with anger,

tore me apart.

And it was then, after I escaped

their squeals of hate

and teeth sharpened to destroy,

that I realized that these manicured little brutes were indeed,

the pious little piggies

of which I had been warned.

Archive
bottom of page