top of page

The Lifeless Wife

"Hush!" I sternly tell my mind

As it patters back and forth,

Picking up and putting down

All the memories that I'm worth.

"This one's very interesting..."

It says, in spite of me.

"Recall that time, you proved yourself,

To mean and selfish be?"

"And this one here!"

It says again, prodding at my past,

"This is the time you quite the race,

Afraid that you'd be last."

And so it goes, both day and night,

My mind's unending scan,

Deducing all I've ever done,

To all I really am.

Then from a place, I am quite sure,

Was no origin of mine,

I hear another voice break in,

It's authority, Divine.

"Oh yes," it says with confidence,

"I've seen these moments too.

In fact," It whispers, "I've seen more

To every part of you."

"Your past, your present, your future too.

It all is seen by me.

And to be clear, you are far worse,

than you suspect or see."

And with these words, I felt the strike

of a final hammer blow

beat down the nail upon the lid

of the coffin of my soul.

"Then I am lost." I felt the weight

of all I've done my life.

The words I've said, the hurts I've caused,

the places I've brought strife.

Reverberating was the sound

of that hammer blow,

and there I felt the weight of sin

bury me below.

But that same voice spoke louder then

above the deafening sound,

and reached me where I lay supine

sunk deep, dug underground.

"The coffin where you lay," it said,

"Must remain buried deep.

And in it all, all the things I see

from your dark past, we'll heap."

"But you, my love, shall not remain

lying in its walls.

For there was more to the sound

of that final hammer fall.

And then I see, before me stand,

the Love of all my life

He took me by His nail-pierced hands

and asked I be His wife.


Archive
bottom of page